VILLAGE OF YELLOW SPRINGS, OHIO ORDINANCE #2010-17 AMENDING ORDINANCE #2010-02 REGARDING ESTABLISHMENT OF AN ECONOMIC SUSTAINABILITY COMMISSION FOR THE VILLAGE OF YELLOW SPRINGS.

Whereas, the Village of Yellow Springs is facing one of the most critical periods in its history with many businesses struggling in this depressed economy, and

Whereas, issues of growth and development are contentious and various strategies for Economic Development are being proposed, and

Whereas, a decreasing tax base is creating a struggle between village services and community affordability, and

Whereas, to address these many critical concerns Village Council wishes to create an Economic Sustainability Commission.

NOW, THEREFORE, THE COUNCIL FOR THE VILLAGE OF YELLOW SPRINGS, OHIO HEREBY ORDAINS THAT:

Section 1. This Ordinance amends Ordinance 2010-02. The amended ordinance reads as follows:

Section 2. Council charges this Commission to work with the Economic Sustainability Coordinator in carrying out the following tasks:

- 1. Providing information and making recommendations regarding economic sustainability in Yellow Springs;
- 2. Identifying primary opportunities for economic development in Yellow Springs and ways to support those efforts;
- 3. Recommending steps to further strengthen meeting local needs locally, support opportunities for skills training and mentoring and support other practices for local economic sustainability;
- 4. Assisting in the development of an Economic Sustainability Plan.
- 5. Serving as a place to incubate ideas and to network among a variety of groups working on economic development in Yellow Springs:
- 6. Reporting on activities on various fronts and cooperate in designing strategies for development
- 7. Being a sounding board for ideas generated by businesses and citizens.

Section 3. The Commission will consist of nine members. The Council will appoint members to the Commission with skills and experience in business and finance, economic development, workforce development, re-localization and community involvement. Representatives of the

Yellow Springs School Board, Township Trustees, Planning Commission, and Village Council along with the Economic Sustainability Coordinator, will serve as ex officio members. Commission members will serve a 2-year term with the exception that, to provide stability, four commission members shall serve initial terms three years in duration, while the remaining five commission members shall serve two years in duration, with all terms thereafter being two years in duration.

Section 4. As an official Commission of Council, all meetings of the Economic Sustainability Commission must be advertised and open to the public. All members of the commission will be asked to disclose any professional or financial interests in the community for purposes of transparency. To be considered official, meetings must be attended by a quorum, determined to be a simple majority of five voting members. Official meeting minutes must be kept, approved and forwarded to the Clerk of Council for distribution and records retention.

Judith Hempfling, Council President

Passed: 10-4-2010

Attest: _____

Judy Kintner, Clerk of Council

ROLL CALL

Judith Hempfling __Y_ Lori Askeland __Y_ Karen Wintrow __Y_

John Booth_Y___ Rick Walkey_Y__